Album Review: Hidetake Takayama – Asterism

by FunkDruid

CS2069697-02A-BIG

Every now and then you found yourself coming upon an album that you just enjoy right from the get go, and to me Asterism is that album to a tee. A week or two ago, my roommate Luke came up to me and said that I “HAVE to listen to this song.”  The song he pulled up was track 5, Welcome to You & Me (ft. Sam Ock). Now, Luke is a audiophile and quite possibly the biggest music snob I have ever met, so I usually trust what he has to say about music. After he established that this was a new jazz-hop (a style of hip-hop primarily using jazz samples or samples in a way that end up fitting some definition of jazz) I let the song flood over me and before we were even half way done I had already purchased the album. This album is the second of Hidetake Takayama’s and if his first is anywhere as good as the second then he can expect a purchase from me soon. The album as a whole has no dead spots or songs I didn’t like in some way. Hidetake’s work can easily be compared to the likes of any of the other prominent Japanese jazz-hoppers like Nujabes, Nomak or Uyama Hiroto, being quite the solid hip-hop artist in his own right. Included is the song that I had first listened to that set this all in motion, so you should listen to it and buy the album for yourself.