The three sexiest lady voices in jazz

by FunkDruid

Now this a highly disputed topic, because attraction and music are equally subjective ideas, but id just like to submit my top three list. Most people forget that women even have a place in jazz with all the blockbuster voices like Frank Sinatra and Bing Crosby taking up the spotlight, but these three ladies hold a special place in my heart. I can’t do any more than just three because id just go on for days and days.

3. Lena Horne:
The recently late great Lena Horne, in her hayday had the most beautiful, coy voice I’ve ever laid my ears upon. Her timbre fits her look and shape so perfectly, that any and all would agree that she fits in almost anyone’s top ten list. This irresistible woman was truly the queen of her time, even though she had a rough time with all the black-baling from Hollywood for the red scare issues, she manages to stick to it and leave a lasting impression.

2. Nancy Harms
Now, Nancy Harms is a new find of mine, but she is quite the babe. Her smoother, smoky voice is so wonderful and at the first listen in a duet with Wycliffe Gordon, I was sold. I cant help but feel like she is constantly holding back though. Id give my left arm and then some to hear her just let it rip. That’s really the only thing that holds me back from putting her in first place under this fine gal:

1. Ella Fitzgerald
Ella is the infallible queen of it all. This beautiful songstress is honestly known worldwide for her amazing voice, personality and laundry list of stars that she has sung with as well. Ella has been my favorite since before i could even understand the words she was saying. Ella truly is impossible not to like, with that voice that could soothe a raging bear and her adorable big mama demeanor. It really is everything about her that puts her at 1st place on the list.

Well, that’s my list. If you don’t agree then ok, you’re another fully functioning human being and that’s alright.